Eglise du Saint-Esprit, Paris

4.3
#102 of 210 in Historic Sites in Paris
The Église du Saint-Esprit is a Roman Catholic church in the 12th arrondissement of Paris, France, in the southeast of the city. It was built in 1928–35. The cathedral has a very large reinforced concrete dome, unusual for the period. The interior is richly decorated by contemporary artists of the Ateliers d'Art Sacré.ConstructionThe urban population in the neighborhood had been growing since 1860, which created the need for the church. The land between avenue Daumesnil and rue Claude Decaen was purchased in 1927 by the Archbishop, Cardinal Dubois, and his auxiliary Mgr Crépin. The Église Saint-Esprit was built between 1928 and 1935 by the architect Paul Tournon following a plan inspired by that of the Hagia Sophia in Istanbul. It was built of reinforced concrete with a facing of red bricks from Burgundy. Tournon said that the huge dome made light by the row of openings at its base, with the square nave that supported it, symbolized the union of the divine and the earth. The dome is in diameter and its summit is above ground level. Use of reinforced concrete for the vertical supports and the dome was a major technical feat at the time.The crypt was inaugurated in Ascension 1929 and served as a chapel while the upper part of the church was built. The work progressed slowly due to lack of funding. When Cardinal Dubois died in 1929 he was replaced by Bishop Verdier, who resumed construction in 1932. His bust is above the main door.
With our international travel planner, Paris attractions like Eglise du Saint-Esprit can be center stage of your vacation plans, and you can find out about other attractions like it, unlike it, near it, and miles away.
Source
Create an itinerary including Eglise du Saint-Esprit
map
© OpenMapTiles © OpenStreetMap contributors
Eglise du Saint-Esprit Reviews
Rate this attraction
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating 4.0
13 reviews
Google
4.4
TripAdvisor
  • This church of the Holy Spirit, is located avenue Daumesnil in the No. 186, not far from the place Félix Eboué "Daumesnil". The construction of the building extends from 1929 to 1935, in a style Byzantine Romano, which is fashionable at the time. Its bell tower shaped belfry, on three levels, is covered with Burgundy red brick cladding. He was by far. The Church's cross Latin and organized around a large perforated Dome, 22 m in diameter and 33 m high, inspired by St. Sophie to Istanbul. This church is original but quite dark. The architect Paul Tournon, who has led this project, appealed to many artists of talent for the decorations. It uses the reinforced concrete, covered with siding on parts of the building. This allows large ranges in the nave, which is so clear. The church built on a narrow, oriented North South, is surrounded by buildings of bourgeois aspect avenue Daumesnil. The façade is organised around the steeple of 75 m high, including the base serves as a porch with two superimposed arches, covered with red brick and white stone decoration. The Church is rectangular elongated with on the South end, a chorus of shape rounded, in the centre, the great dome and side street to the North, the Bell Tower. The listed outside of the building are open to a succession of elongated lancets topped with oculus. Each ribbed pillar that frames openings, is topped by a statue of St. This part is visible from the streets Cannebiere and Claude Decaen. The Interior of the Church is organized around the central dome, which the two bottom sides are equipped with a modern peristyle with two levels of arcs of semicircular openwork. The apse is made up of half a Dome decorated with a large fresco of Maurice Denis, who represents "Pentecost". In this part of the Church located behind the altar, a chapel is used for small masses of week. The centre of the choir, is formed by a ciborium to four pillars, surmounted by an octagonal cloche hat. It is decorated with a statue of the Virgin in wood carved on the left, Ferdinand Parpan and a cross Trinitarian Golden, Jean Dunand, that hangs above the altar. The choir is surrounded by two absidiales chapels, one on the right is dedicated to the "work" or the "Holy Family", with a beautiful mural and especially a high relief representing the "death of Joseph" by the sculptor Jacques Martin (1885-1976) particularly e xpressif. The left, dedicated to 'Martyrs', is decorated with two frescoes contiguous, one to "Saint Pierre Saint Paul" of Henri de Maistre, one for "The old world" of Pauline Peugniez. The lights barely to observe them. Unfortunately, the nave is open little stained glass and it is quite dark, which is a handicap to appreciate the painted works. Besides, other frescoes on the lower sides are almost illegible and especially pretty complicated to decode! Only the painted mural on the side South of the nave is visible. The chapel of the confessors, located just to the left of the entrance, is in the twilight. Yet these two works of Robert Albert Gardner to one dedicated to St. Louis and Raymond Virac to one dedicated to Saint Dominic and Saint Francis, are well crafted. The frescoes of the narthex, the intelligence and the will are very visible, as dives in the half-light. The way of the cross, by Georges Desvallières, a well-lit tables, is of a very "modern Gothic" concrete remained gross in the nave, then has blacked out, giving an effect of unfinished business. Some console themselves saying that this gives an effect of old stone, alas no! This church could have been a fine example of the religious art of the 20 th century, but because of the lack of lighting, it loses a part of its interest. The work of artists, who have contributed to its decoration, are therefore only partially obscured, and it's a shame. She entered the Historical Monuments since July 2016 and has the label "Patrimony of the XX th century" it was funded by the Cardinal sites, after the law of separation of Church and State of 1905, as a result, she did not have favors for its location, which logically and at other times, would the be on the great place Félix Eboué, 100 metres away. It is accessible from the metro station "Daumesnil" lines No. 6 and 8 and it is open from Monday to Sunday from 7 h 45 to 19 h.
    View original
  • If you don’t know about this place you would walk, ride or drive right by it. Represented to be the only cathedral that survived the French revolution and it was saved from destruction by a quick thin...  more »
Google
  • One of my favorite places in Paris.
  • OK
Places to stay near Eglise du Saint-Esprit

Plan your trip to Paris

  • Get a personalized plan

    A complete day-by-day itinerary
    based on your preferences
  • Customize it

    Refine your plan. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it

    Choose from the best hotels
    and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it

    Everything in one place.
    Everyone on the same page.

Popular things to do in Paris

View all >
4.6
Duration: 3​h
4.5
Duration: 2​h
4.7
Duration: 3​h
5.0
Duration: 4​h

Historic Sites in Paris

View all >
3.8
Duration: 1​h 30​min
4.4
Duration: 2​h

Neighborhoods in Paris

View all >
4.3
Duration: 2​h
4.7
Duration: 2​h 30​min
4.6
Duration: 1​h
5.0
Duration: 1​h 30​min

Parks in Paris

4.7
Duration: 1​h 30​min
4.5
Duration: 1​h 30​min
4.6
Duration: 1​h
5.0
Duration: 1​h 30​min

Museums in Paris

View all >
4.6
Duration: 2​h 30​min
4.6
Duration: 1​h 30​min
5.0
Duration: 1​h 30​min

Nearby attractions in Paris

4.7
Duration: 2​h
4.6
Duration: 1​h
4.6
Duration: 1​h
5.0
Duration: 3​h
5.0
Duration: 2​h
5.0
Duration: 3​h
5.0
Duration: 3​h